Our Team

Meet Briya

Briya has a dynamic team of committed educators and staff members who are passionate about education and social justice. Each staff member comes to Briya through a different path — full-time volunteers, former students, career educators — but all stay because of their commitment to the families Briya serves.

Leadership Team

Christie McKay

Christie McKay

Executive Director
Bill Bletzinger

Bill Bletzinger

Director of Finance and Administration
Karen Hertzler

Karen Hertzler

Director of Accountability
Cara Sklar

Cara Sklar

Director of Research and Policy
Lisa Luceno

Lisa Luceno

Director of Early Childhood
Lorie Preheim

Lorie Preheim

Academic Dean
Silvia Arias

Silvia Arias

Early Childhood Manager
Amy Gonzalez

Amy Gonzalez

Operations Manager

Board of Trustees

Joel Goering, board chair, Senior Charter School Finance Specialist at EdOps

Julia Toro, board vice chair, Owner of Julia M. Toro Law Firm, PLLC

Yizel Romero Octaviano, board secretary, Briya student

Emmanuel Caudillo, board treasurer, Special Advisor for the White House Initiative on Educational Excellence for Hispanics

Charlotte Baer, board member, Educational Consultant

Doris Garay, board member, Family Engagement Facilitator/Social Worker for the Department of Family Services, Fairfax, Virginia.

Whytni Kernodle, board member, President of Obra S. Kernodle III, Esq., P.C.

Todd Shears, board member, Founder and Owner, BlueSail Advisors LLC

Nishit (Nick) Sheth, board member, Business Manager at Subsystem Technologies, supporting Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

Deborah Spitz, board member, Program Specialist, Office of Early Learning at the US Department of Education

Yapsis Palacios, board member, Briya student

More about our board

Team Directory

Adhikari, PoojaEarly Childhood Teacherpadhikari@briya.org
Alexander, Patricia Family Literacy PreK Teacherpalexander@briya.org
Alfaro, Jose Administrative & Security Support jalfaro@briya.org
Alvarado, KarlaMedical Assistant Program Assistantkalvarado@briya.org
Arias, Andrea IT Specialist aarias@briya.org
Arias, Silvia Early Childhood Manager sarias@briya.org
Benavides, Marcela Administrative Coordinator mbenavides@briya.org
Benitez, RoxanaEarly Childhood Teacherrbenitez@briya.org
Bergner, Elizabeth Adult Education & Family Literacy Instructor ebergner@briya.org
Birkey, Jodi Director of Charter Data and Administrative Manager jbirkey@briya.org
Bletzinger, Bill Director of Finance & Administration bbletzinger@briya.org
Bowman, ElizabethAdult Education Manager and Digital Literacy Instructorebowman@briya.org
Bradshaw, JennaDigital Literacy Instructorjbradshaw@briya.org
Canaviri, SoniaEarly Childhood Teacherscanaviri@briya.org
Canizales, Gladis Early Childhood Assessment Coordinator gcanizales@briya.org
Castro, MauBilingual Child Development Specialist & CDA Coordinatormcastro@briya.org
Cruz, Berta IT Manager bcruz@briya.org
Cruz, Gloria Early Childhood Teacher gcruz@briya.org
De Paula, Gracia CDA Instructor gdepaula@briya.org
Diaz, KennyIT Specialistkdiaz@briya.org
Diaz, PabloIT Specialistpdiaz@briya.org
Diaz PercyIT Specialistpjdiaz@briya.org
Escamilla, Shiela Family Literacy PreK Teacher sescamilla@briya.org
Ewnetu, MeseretAssistant Digital Literacy Instructormewnetu@briya.org
Faloni, Mark Adult Education & Family Literacy Instructor mfaloni@briya.org
Farah-Robison, Raquel Student Services Coordinator rfarah-robison@briya.org
Ferdous, ZannatulEarly Childhood Teacherzferdous@briya.org
Flores de Montero, Lucia Family Literacy PreK Teacher lflores@briya.org
Fowler, GraceEarly Childhood Instructional Specialistgfowler@briya.org
Gadhia, Reena Medical Assistant Manager and Program Developer rgadhia@briya.org
Gaitan, Maria Dolores Early Childhood Teacher mgaitan@briya.org
Gass, Katie Digital Literacy Coordinator & Instructor kgass@briya.org
Gomez, Katia Special Education Teacher and ELL Specialist kgomez@briya.org
Gomez, Lorena Family Literacy PreK Teacher lgomez@briya.org
Gonzalez, Amy Operations Manager and Digital Literacy Instructional Coordinator agonzalez@briya.org
Gordon, Emily Family Literacy PreK Teacher egordon@briya.org
Gorman, Elise Adult Education & Family Literacy Instructor egorman@briya.org
Granados, Alejandra Early Childhood Teacher agranados@briya.org
Grijalva, Sonia Early Childhood Assistant sgrijalva@briya.org
Guardado, Daysi E. Early Childhood Teacher dguardado@briya.org
Guardado, Mirna Registrarmguardado@briya.org
Guardado, MorisEducation Internmoguardado@briya.org
Guardado, Wendy Administrative Coordinator wguardado@briya.org
Hapuarachchi, ShanikaDevelopment Specialistshapuarachchi@briya.org
Hernandez, Ana LuciaEarly Childhood Teacherahernandez@briya.org
Hertzler, Karen Director of Accountability & Development khertzler@briya.org
Johnson, Lena Special Education Coordinator ljohnson@briya.org
Juarez-Escamilla, Maribel Early Childhood Teacher mescamilla@briya.org
Kebade, LuwamEarly Childhood Teacherlkebade@briya.org
Kelley, Aimee Communications Administratorakelley@briya.org
Kittleson, Judy Adult Education & Family Literacy Instructor and Coordinator jkittleson@briya.org
Luceno, Lisa Director of Early Childhood Education lluceno@briya.org
Mahfouz, MelissaDigital Literacy Instructormmahfouz@briya.org
Marin, Sandra Digital Literacy Instructor smarin@briya.org
McKay,Christie Executive Director cmckay@briya.org
Mejia, Amima Early Childhood Assistant amejia@briya.org
Mendoza, Nayeli Medical Assistant Instructor and School Nurse nmendoza@briya.org
Mendoza,Yolanda Early Childhood Assistant ymendoza@briya.org
Mintz, Stephanie Community Schools Coordinator and Director of Student Services smintz@briya.org
Morales, Alicia Early Childhood Teacher amorales@briya.org
Morillo, Florinda Early Childhood Assistant fmorillo@briya.org
Mussman, Noelani Director of Early Childhood Curriculum & Instruction nmussman@briya.org
Nerger, Rachel Adult Education & Family Literacy Instuctorrnerger@briya.org
Ngouabou, PaulDigital Literacy Instructorpngouabou@briya.org
O’Connell, MeredithAssistant Digital Literacy Instructormoconnell@briya.org
Pease, Alicia Adult Education & Family Literacy Instructor apease@briya.org
Perez, GuillerminaEarly Childhood Teachergperez@gmail.com
Pope, Brittany Digital Literacy Coach and Transitions Coordinator bpope@briya.org
Preheim, Lorie Academic Dean lpreheim@briya.org
Quintanilla, Carlos Family Literacy PreK Teacher cquintanilla@briya.org
Rached, Sawsan Early Childhood Assistant srached@briya.org
Reeder, Cristin Adult Education & Family Literacy Instructor creeder@briya.org
Reuber, Paige Adult Education & Family Literacy Coordinator and Instructor preuber@briya.org
Rivas, Claudia Early Childhood Assistant crivas@briya.org
Rivera, Kimberly Administrative Specialistkrivera@briya.org
Rivera, Rosa Early Childhood Teacher rrivera@briya.org
Rosenberg, Jessica Adult Education and Family Literacy Instructor & Coordinator jrosenberg@briya.org
Sanchez, JulietFamily Literacy PreK Teacherjsanchez@briya.org
Sandoval, Nury Bilingual Early Intervention and Parent Coordinator nsandoval@briya.org
Sauls, Yolanda Early Childhood Assistant ysauls@briya.org
Schuetz, Erica Adult Education & Family Literacy Instructor eschuetz@briya.org
Sklar, Cara Director of Research & Policy csklar@briya.org
Stoltzfus, Lauren Communications Specialist lstoltzfus@briya.org
Taft Hicks, Camilla Strategy Coordinator ctafthicks@briya.org
Toure, Barbara Adult Education & Family Literacy Instructor btoure@briya.org
Valenzuela, Ivana Outreach & Registration Coordinator ivalenzuela@briya.org
Van Slyck, Kate Curriculum Lead and Special Education Teacher kvanslyck@briya.org
Willet, Melanie Family Literacy PreK Teacher mwillet@briya.org
Williams, MichaelIT Specialistmwilliams@briya.org
Wittkowski, KirstenAdult Education & Family Literacy Instructorkwittkowski@briya.org
Wotcho, Mireille Early Childhood Teacher mwotcho@briya.org